Cabinet approves ₹1.86 lakh crore Green Energy Corridor
In this note
- At a Glance
- Why in the News
- Background & Evolution
- Core Static Facts
- Multi-Dimensional Analysis
- Recent Developments (last 12–18 months)
- Prelims Hooks
- Phase-I Missed Its Targets, and Phase-III Is 15 Times Bigger
- Why the States May Struggle to Pay Their Share
- What 50 GWh of Batteries Can and Cannot Do
- Who Must Act for Phase-III to Deliver
- Anchors for Answers
- Mains Relevance
- Related Topics to Study Next
- Common Errors / Trap Areas
1. At a Glance
- The Green Energy Corridor (GEC) is a scheme to build transmission infrastructure that carries power from renewable energy (RE) projects into the grid. Phase-III is meant to integrate up to 135 GW of RE into State and UT grids by FY 2032-33 [1].
- Phase-III has a total outlay of more than ₹1.86 lakh crore. For the first time, it includes a dedicated Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) component [1].
- The scheme targets curtailment, which happens when grid operators limit RE output to keep the grid stable [1].
- UPSC relevance: GS-III (infrastructure: energy; climate/energy transition). It links to India's RE targets and to how the energy transition is financed through Centre–State arrangements [1][2].
2. Why in the News
- The Union Cabinet approved the third phase of GEC. The Hindu reported the approval in its print edition of 1 October 2026 (Chennai edition, p. 11) [1].
- The Hindu had reported on 10 August 2026 that the government was in the final planning stages of Phase-III [1].
- Phase-III has the largest outlay of any GEC phase, and it is the first to fund battery storage [1][2].
3. Background & Evolution
- Rationale: RE-rich States need dedicated evacuation and transmission capacity so that variable solar and wind power can be absorbed without curtailment [1][2].
- External finance: Germany extended a €1 billion soft loan for "Green Energy Corridors" [4].
- GEC Phase-II (Intra-State Transmission System, InSTS): approved by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) [2][3]
- About 10,750 circuit km (ckm) of transmission lines [2]
- About 27,500 MVA of substation transformation capacity [2]
- Cost ₹12,031.33 crore, with Central Financial Assistance (CFA) of 33%, i.e. ₹3,970.34 crore [2]
- Period: FY 2021-22 to FY 2025-26 (five years) [2]
- Seven States: Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh [2]
- Evacuates about 20 GW of RE [2]
-
Supports the 450 GW RE installed capacity by 2030 target [2]
-
GEC Phase-III (2026): outlay above ₹1.86 lakh crore, 135 GW RE integration, and a BESS component. Phase-II's window closed in FY 2025-26, and Phase-III follows it [1][2].
- Phase-I details (year, outlay, States) were not in the retrieved sources. Verify them from PIB before citing.
4. Core Static Facts
| Parameter | GEC Phase-II | GEC Phase-III |
|---|---|---|
| Approving body | CCEA [2] | Union Cabinet [1] |
| Total outlay | ₹12,031.33 crore [2] | > ₹1.86 lakh crore [1] |
| Intra-state transmission component | Whole scheme is InSTS [2][3] | ₹1.36 lakh crore [1] |
| Storage component | None reported [2] | ₹50,000 crore for 50 GWh BESS (a first) [1] |
| Central support | CFA 33% (₹3,970.34 crore) [2] | Not reported in source [1] |
| RE to be integrated | ~20 GW [2] | Up to 135 GW [1] |
| Timeline | FY 2021-22 to 2025-26 [2] | Up to FY 2032-33 [1] |
| Geographic scope | 7 States [2] | States and UTs (list not reported) [1] |
| Physical targets | 10,750 ckm lines; 27,500 MVA [2] | Not reported [1] |
- Key terms:
- Curtailment: grid operators cut RE output to keep the grid stable [1].
- InSTS: Intra-State Transmission System, i.e. networks inside a State, as opposed to the inter-state (ISTS) grid [2].
- BESS: Battery Energy Storage System, measured in GWh (energy), not GW (power) [1].
5. Multi-Dimensional Analysis
Economic
- ₹1.86 lakh crore is roughly 15 times Phase-II's ₹12,031.33 crore. Transmission is becoming the main capital requirement of the energy transition [1][2].
- Intra-state transmission takes about 73% of the Phase-III outlay (₹1.36 lakh crore of ₹1.86 lakh crore) [1].
- Reducing curtailment improves returns on RE projects that have already been built, because generated power is not wasted [1].
Environmental / Climate
- Integrating 135 GW of RE directly supports decarbonising the power sector [1].
- Phase-II was linked to the 450 GW by 2030 RE target. Phase-III extends the pathway to FY 2032-33 [1][2].
Scientific / Technological
- The 50 GWh BESS component deals with the intermittency of solar and wind. Stored power can shift supply to peak hours and support grid stability [1].
- Storage and transmission together are two tools against curtailment: one removes network bottlenecks, the other absorbs surplus power [1].
Administrative / Federal
- GEC is built around intra-state networks, which the States develop with Central financial assistance. Phase-II used a 33% CFA model [2].
- Phase-III covers States and UTs, whereas Phase-II covered only seven States. The scheme is moving beyond the RE-rich States [1][2].
Geopolitical / Financial
- Bilateral climate finance has supported the corridor, including Germany's €1 billion soft loan [4].
6. Recent Developments (last 12–18 months)
- FY 2025-26: Phase-II's implementation window ended [2].
- 10 Aug 2026: The Hindu reported that Phase-III was in its final planning stages [1].
- Late Sep 2026: the Union Cabinet approved GEC Phase-III, reported on 1 Oct 2026. Outlay above ₹1.86 lakh crore; up to 135 GW; 50 GWh BESS [1].
7. Prelims Hooks
- GEC Phase-III outlay: more than ₹1.86 lakh crore [1].
- Phase-III aims to integrate up to 135 GW of RE by FY 2032-33 [1].
- Phase-III gives ₹1.36 lakh crore to intra-state transmission systems [1].
- Phase-III is the first GEC phase with a dedicated ₹50,000 crore BESS component [1].
- BESS target under Phase-III: 50 GWh [1].
- Curtailment means grid operators limiting RE output to keep the grid stable [1].
- GEC Phase-II was approved by the CCEA [2].
- Phase-II cost: ₹12,031.33 crore, with 33% CFA (₹3,970.34 crore) [2].
- Phase-II targets: about 10,750 ckm of lines and 27,500 MVA of substations [2].
- Phase-II period: FY 2021-22 to FY 2025-26 [2].
- Phase-II States: Gujarat, HP, Karnataka, Kerala, Rajasthan, TN, UP [2].
- Phase-II evacuates about 20 GW of RE and supports the 450 GW by 2030 target [2].
- Germany extended a €1 billion soft loan for Green Energy Corridors [4].
8. Phase-I Missed Its Targets, and Phase-III Is 15 Times Bigger
- The first phase built far less than it promised
- In March 2021, Parliament's Standing Committee on Energy reviewed GEC Phase-I [5].
- By 31 December 2020, 7,365 ckm (circuit kilometres, the length of power lines) had been built. The target was 9,700 ckm [5].
-
9,976 MVA of substation capacity was ready. The target was 22,600 MVA [5]. MVA measures how much power a substation's transformers can handle. So only about 44% of the substation target was met.
-
The Committee blamed how the project was run, not a lack of money
- It said the main reasons were weak monitoring by the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) and the "lack of priority" given to the project [5].
-
Phase-III will spend more than ₹1.86 lakh crore, about 15 times Phase-II [1][2]. If monitoring stays as weak, the gap between money approved and lines actually built could grow just as fast.
-
Transmission building is still slow across the whole country
- In 2024-25, India added only 58% of the transmission lines it had planned [6].
-
GEC's promise to cut curtailment depends on lines being finished on time. Solar parks can be built in a year or two. When the line is late, the power has nowhere to go.
-
MNRE often does not spend what it is given
- In 2023-24, MNRE spent 22% less than its budget [6].
- A bigger outlay does not mean more is built. It shows up on the ground only if the ministry can actually spend the money.
9. Why the States May Struggle to Pay Their Share
- GEC builds networks inside each State, so State utilities carry much of the cost
- In Phase-II, the Centre paid 33% as CFA (Central Financial Assistance, a grant from the Centre) [2].
- The other 67% did not come from the Centre as a grant.
-
For Phase-III, the news report does not give the Centre's share of the ₹1.36 lakh crore for intra-state lines [1]. That share will decide how much debt the States must take on.
-
The State power sector is already losing money
- DISCOMs (distribution companies, the State bodies that sell power to homes and farms) are still making losses [6].
- PRS names two causes: tariffs set below cost, and high technical and commercial losses (power lost in wires, or supplied but never billed or paid for) [6].
-
Transmission companies are paid, in the end, from what DISCOMs collect. A DISCOM that is losing money pays them late, and that makes it harder for them to borrow for new lines.
-
Phase-III now covers poorer States too
- Phase-II covered seven RE-rich States. Phase-III covers States and UTs more widely [1][2].
- Newer States may have weaker utilities, and they will be asked to build big networks at the same time as everyone else.
10. What 50 GWh of Batteries Can and Cannot Do
- The real problem: lots of solar and wind capacity, much less actual power
- Solar and wind make up 37% of India's installed capacity but produce only 13% of its electricity [6].
-
The sun and wind are not always there. PRS warns that raising their share must be "carefully sequenced" to keep the grid stable [6].
-
50 GWh is small next to 135 GW
- GWh measures stored energy. GW measures power at one moment.
- 50 GWh could supply 50 GW for one hour, or 12.5 GW for four hours. Phase-III is meant to connect up to 135 GW of RE [1].
-
So the batteries can smooth the evening peak. They cannot carry the grid through a long cloudy or windless spell.
-
Batteries and grid materials still depend on imports
- The 2026-27 Budget exempted customs duty on capital goods used to make battery cells for storage [6]. That shows cell-making in India is still at an early stage.
- PRS also notes that transmission itself depends on imports for critical materials [6].
- If supply from abroad is disrupted, both parts of Phase-III, the lines and the batteries, could be delayed.
11. Who Must Act for Phase-III to Deliver
- Ministry of Power and MNRE: track physical progress, not just money released
- The Standing Committee on Energy asked MNRE to work towards meeting GEC targets on time. It pointed to weak monitoring as the main failure [5].
-
For Phase-III, this means publishing, State by State, the lines, substations and batteries finished each year.
-
Union Cabinet / Ministry of Power: state the Centre's share clearly and early
- The 33% CFA in Phase-II was fixed and known [2]. Phase-III's share has not been reported [1].
-
States cannot plan their borrowing until they know this number.
-
Centre: help States get cheap loans, as was done before
- Germany gave India a €1 billion soft loan (a loan at low interest and on easy terms) for Green Energy Corridors [4].
-
Using similar partner loans for Phase-III would reduce what loss-making State utilities have to borrow at market rates.
-
Ministry of Power: build the BESS VGF and GEC storage as one plan
- A separate VGF already exists for battery storage [6]. VGF (viability gap funding) is a grant that makes a project profitable enough for private firms.
- The GEC's 50 GWh should be placed where lines are most crowded [1]. That way both schemes attack the same curtailment points and do not overlap.
12. Anchors for Answers
- Data: Solar and wind are 37% of installed capacity but only 13% of generation. This is the intermittency gap that GEC and BESS target [6]
- Data: Only 58% of targeted transmission lines were added in 2024-25 [6]
- Data: GEC Phase-I built 7,365 ckm of lines against a 9,700 ckm target, and 9,976 MVA of substations against 22,600 MVA (as of Dec 2020) [5]
- Report/Committee: Standing Committee on Energy, Action Plan for Achievement of 175 GW RE Target (March 2021). It found weak MNRE monitoring and low priority behind the GEC shortfall [5]
- Comparison: Phase-II had a fixed 33% CFA for 7 States [2]. Phase-III covers wider States and UTs, and its central share has not been reported [1]
- Scheme: BESS Viability Gap Funding, which gets 3% of the Ministry of Power's allocation, plus the 2026-27 customs exemption for BESS cell capital goods. Both go with GEC-III's 50 GWh storage [6]
- Scheme: Revamped Distribution Sector Scheme, which gets 60% of the 2026-27 allocation. DISCOM health decides whether States can pay for GEC lines [6]
13. Mains Relevance
- GS-III: Infrastructure (Energy); Conservation, environmental pollution and degradation; Indian economy and mobilisation of resources.
- GS-II (secondary): Centre–State fiscal relations, through Central financial assistance to State transmission utilities.
- Question stems: 1. "India's renewable energy bottleneck has shifted from generation to transmission and storage." Discuss this in the context of the Green Energy Corridor Phase-III. 2. What is RE curtailment? Examine how grid infrastructure and battery storage can help India meet its renewable energy targets. 3. Critically evaluate the Centre–State model of financing intra-state transmission for the energy transition.
14. Related Topics to Study Next
- 450 GW RE by 2030 / 500 GW non-fossil target: the capacity goals that GEC is built to serve [2].
- Inter-State Transmission System (ISTS) and the national grid: the counterpart to GEC's intra-state focus [2].
- Battery Energy Storage System and VGF schemes: linked to Phase-III's new BESS component [1].
- Pumped storage hydro: the other main technology for grid-scale storage.
- Updated NDC under the Paris Agreement: the climate commitments that drive the RE build-out.
- Indo-German Green and Sustainable Development Partnership: a source of GEC financing [4].
- Electricity (Amendment) Bill / Renewable Purchase Obligations: the regulatory side of RE integration.
- Grid stability and inertia; DISCOM finances: these determine how much curtailment occurs.
15. Common Errors / Trap Areas
- Units: BESS is 50 GWh (energy storage), while RE integration is 135 GW (capacity). Do not interchange them [1].
- Outlay split: ₹1.86 lakh crore = ₹1.36 lakh crore (InSTS) + ₹50,000 crore (BESS). Do not quote ₹1.36 lakh crore as the total [1].
- Approving body: Phase-II was approved by the CCEA [2], while Phase-III news reports say the Union Cabinet [1]. Check the final PIB release.
- Phase-II vs Phase-III scope: Phase-II covered 7 States (~20 GW) [2]. Phase-III covers States and UTs (up to 135 GW) [1].
- CFA share: 33% applies to Phase-II [2]. The Phase-III share was not in the source, so do not assume 33% carries over [1].
Sources
- 1Cabinet approves ₹1.86 lakh crore Green Energy Corridor — Saptaparno Ghosh, The Hindu (Chennai print, 1 Oct 2026, p. 11)thehindu.com · tier 4
- 2Cabinet approves Intra-State Transmission System (GEC Phase-II), PIBpib.gov.in · tier 1
- 3Green Energy Corridor – Intra-State Transmission System Phase-II scheme, PIBpib.gov.in · tier 1
- 4India to Receive Euro 1 billion Soft Loan for 'Green Energy Corridors' from Germany, PIBpib.gov.in · tier 1
- 5Report Summary: Action plan for achievement of 175 GW renewable energy target (Standing Committee on Energy, March 2021)prsindia.org · tier 1
- 6Demand for Grants 2026-27 Analysis: Power and New & Renewable Energyprsindia.org · tier 1